A Very Kay Christmas.

A Very Kay Christmas is the second event I have organized for the Haida Heritage Centre.

I volunteered to organize the Holiday event because I love Christmas!

I have loved the Holiday season for as long as I can remember.

I love that glowy feeling I get when I look at Christmas light displays. I love laughing and having fun with family.

I love tradition and food. This is my favourite time of the year.

Events take a long time to organize. I began writing donation letters in late September/ early October. We were lucky enough to be supported by the Skidegate Band Council and Northern Savings.

We also received numerous donations from amazing local businesses!

I knew when I started planning that I wanted live music. I also love holiday tunes.

We decided that because of the generous donations we had received we would ask Mr. Clause to get a present for each kid that came to see him. He showed up with boxes filled with toys.

k4

I had planned on taking photos for an hour. Instead I took photos for three hours.

Santa was a sport and he told me he loved the look on the kids faces.

Even those that screamed at him and pulled his beard!

Santa also told me that we looked ridiculous trying to make the kids smile.

201

Musical performances started with Gregory Williams, followed by the Ukeladies (pictured above), Graham Richard and the Choir!

k274

We hired Gladys Vandal to teach weaving and set up a kids craft table run by some lovely volunteers from Northern Savings and the Island Wellness Society.

k303 k304

There was a hot cocoa bar with all kinds of sweet treats! And vendors lined the halls.

305

Haida Gwaii Higher ed. Put on the Ugly Xmas Sweater Competiton. I entered for fun (and received 2 votes).

k308

My tallest sibling won. In a sweater borrowed from the runner up. He must have campaigned pretty hard.

k309 k312

Haawa to everyone who donated, volunteered, was volun-told and those of you who came out to get your holiday spirit on!

K k55

Especially to the GNC team for putting up with Christmas Chaos in our office. For helping me, and Seraphine thank-you for dancing around like a crazy person to get kids to smile- and for creating the best outfit ever!

k73

Haawa everyone.

Happy Holidays to you and your families.

I hope that you enjoy your time with loved ones, stuff your faces, smile, laugh and wear stretchy pants.

I am heading off to see my family for the Holidays. You will hear from me again in the New Year.

Merry Christmas!!!!

Blog written by Michaela McGuire, Photographer, Project Officer at GNC & HHC & new-ish Skidegate resident.